WW2 alternate timelines

Discussions on alternate history, including events up to 20 years before today. Hosted by Terry Duncan.
Wikus Van De Merwe

WW2 alternate timelines

Post by Wikus Van De Merwe » 03 Jun 2015, 00:50

Hi,

I am a history student (in Croatia) working with some WW2 game developers and I was wondering about some crucial WW2 moments that could have changed the course war, so I was wondering you could help me with your ideas on these questions:
1. What if Soviet Union didn't attack Poland? Would it change the course of Barbarossa and German advances?
2. What if France attacked Germany during the attack on Poland? (The war in the German hills would be in favour of Allied forces)
3. What would be German reasons to attack Spain? If the didn't effect Civil war, and Russians did?
4. What if Turkey was forced to join the Axis? (The question of Russian oil at Baku)
5. In Barbarossa, what if Germany didn't split forces at Stalingrad?
6. What about Norway? What if England attacked first?
7. Axis attack on Switzerland? In which conditions would that happen and what benefits would that bring?

Alixanther

Re: WW2 alternate timelines

Post by Alixanther » 05 Jun 2015, 06:29

1. Poland would still fail, unless a combined British-French expeditionary force would march into Germany. The only difference would be political, which the Western Allies chose to ignore anyway in the OTL.