ChristopherPerrien wrote:Kingfish wrote:ChristopherPerrien wrote:I am sorry ,he only lost ONE battle.
I fail to see how Eastern Solomons and Santa Cruz can be considered a Japanese victory.
Neither were they losses either. I judge them bloody exchanges.
Besides, My comment about "one" loss, was in context to replying , to the foolish notion that inferred that Nagumo LOST at Pearl Harbor and then at Midway, and then further inferred he lost very battle where he commanded.
Also , just to throw Fuel on the fire , let us not broach what Nagumo did to British in the interim between Pearl and Midway. Of course what self-serving, Nagumo-hating, armchair historian ,would even know/admit of the Indian Ocean Raid.
Dare I call that a Nagumo Victory?
Chris, given that Nagumo had two Battleships & a number of heavy cruisers with him, could/ should he have followed up with a Night Bombardment?
I assume that some He shells were available,& Armor piercing shells would have devastated immobile battleships.