U-boat deck guns - I need your help

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the submarine forces of the Kriegsmarine.
butterfly

U-boat deck guns - I need your help

Post by butterfly » 05 Aug 2015, 17:10

Hello everyone I am new to the Axis History Forum but have been active on other forums for sometime. I was recommended to join by an existing member as I was told that there were knowledgeable people on here.

I would like a little help regarding the deck guns used on the U-boats, but to be a little more specific, the sights used on these guns. I have what I believe to be an optical sight from a 8,8 cm gun used on the type VII U-boat, and indeed have found period images which show identical sights mounted. However it is difficult to be 100% certain from images and would like to have conclusive proof. I am also having problems distinguishing between the 8,8 cm and 10,5 cm guns and cannot determine if the sight I have was specific only to the 8,8 or was also used with the 10,5.

The sight I have is marked DZ C/1 and if anyone is interested I can post some photos.

Ultimately I would like to know what gun/guns this sight was used with and if I am indeed correct that it was used aboard the U-boats, can anyone help me?

thank you in advance
regards Kev

butterfly

Re: U-boat deck guns.......... I need your help

Post by butterfly » 06 Aug 2015, 14:25

Just to make everyone aware I am running a parallel thread to this one here, this one has images of the sight I have. Please feel free to add any comments/hlep, it is difficult to find out much about specific items like this, but I am confident that someone will know the answers to my questions...

http://forum.axishistory.com/viewtopic. ... 0#p1960270

I hope it is of interest
regards Kev

butterfly

Post by butterfly » 10 Aug 2015, 12:52

Can anyone on the U-boat Forum help with the following question...