Marbury Hall Army and POW Camp 1939-1948

Discussions on all aspects of the The United Kingdom & its Empire and Commonwealth during the Inter-War era and Second World War. Hosted by Andy H
Foam

Marbury Hall Army and POW Camp 1939-1948

Post by Foam » 16 Aug 2013, 12:48

I am an amateur historian and member of FOAM. This stands for the Friends of Anderton and Marbury which is a 1000 acre public park just North of the town of Northwich Cheshire England. During the Second World War the hall was an army camp from 1939 to 1944, and then a Prisoner of War Camp, number 180/189. FOAM is trying to update the current site history and link this to archaeological features of the park. A current focus is the World War 2 occupation of the camp by English, Scottish, Polish and American units followed by Prisoners of War.

We know the camp was not constructed until after September 1939 but we do not know exactly when.

Currently (and thanks most recently to a post of Knouterer on this forum) we have identified that (after some Dunkirk survivors were briefly present) the first known military users were the 19th, 20th and 21st battalions of the Royal Fusiliers from July to December 1940.

We think they were followed by 6th battalion Seaforth Highlanders January - April 1941 then 5th battalion Royal Norfolk Regiment, April to October 1941.

November to April 1942 the camp was occupied by 4th battalion King's Shropshire Light Infantry, followed at an uncertain date by 7th Battalion Kings Own Royal Regiment who left in June 1942.