The SS Room Mp40 is it worth it?

Discussions on all aspects of WW1, WW2 and Inter-War Era reenactment.
JACK-BOOT

The SS Room Mp40 is it worth it?

Post by JACK-BOOT » 21 Feb 2013, 05:43

Hey guys ive been reenacting axis for 10 years and finally would like to purchase a blank firing mp40. I see that SS room that use to produce the blank firing mp40's has gone out of buisness but another company called NJ sekela has them for sale. There selling them for $3,600.00 8O!!!

Are they reliable? Are they built well? If it breaks are parts available? and for $3,6000 are they worth it??? Ive seen other reenactors use them before and look pretty darn cool and fun. Would love to hear any good or bad reviews on it because id hate to buy a $3,600 dollar toy and have it be a piece of junk. So your opinions please! Thanks :milwink:

dixiedrummer

Re: The SS Room Mp40 is it worth it?

Post by dixiedrummer » 21 Feb 2013, 18:01

I don't think anybody has actually received a bfong from NJ Sekela. I know he was taking orders, but I don't think he came through on anything. Old SSR guns are out there from 2k to 4k. I have a real mp40. IMO, if I'm going to potentially spend 4k on a fake gun, why not save a little more for the real deal. I know not everybody can own MGs though, due to state restrictions, so your only option may be a bfong.

With some tweaking, the bfongs can be a somewhat reliable gun. Guys in my unit mill out vigneron mags and use them because they are much better than the SSR ones. They do need to be kept clean though. They are a pain to disassemble and it's hard to really scrub them up when they are assembled. If you can keep them soaked in Remoil or something, it usually helps. From what I've heard, some guns are great and have no problems, and others are worthless chunks of metal.

JACK-BOOT

Post by JACK-BOOT » 21 Feb 2013, 18:45