possible unit? 715. Infanterie-Division?

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the Freikorps, Reichswehr, Austrian Bundesheer, Heer, Waffen-SS, Volkssturm and Fallschirmjäger and the other Luftwaffe ground forces. Hosted by Christoph Awender.
Shane6969

possible unit? 715. Infanterie-Division?

Post by Shane6969 » 14 Sep 2015, 01:16

Hi All,
I am trying to find out which unit my Dad's cousin belonged to. He was a Toolmaker by trade and employed in his unit as a Toolmaker. His unit was in France first, then sent to Italy around 1943, then sent to the Eastern Front in the last months of the war. When his unit was sent to the Eastern Front he was transferred to it's Panzer-Jäger-Abteilung, which had just been equipped with the Panzerjäger "Hetzer". He was wounded and captured when his unit (and his Hetzer) was destroyed by the Russians in the closing stages of the war. After close examination of all Infanterie-Divisions which were in France, then Italy and finally in Russia (and equiped with Hetzers) at the said times, I came to the conclusion that his unit probably the 715. Infanterie-Division. Would this be correct?
Thanks in advance.

The 51st Division

Re: possible unit? 715. Infanterie-Division?

Post by The 51st Division » 17 Sep 2015, 03:07

Well, the movement of the 715. Infanterie-Division certainly fits with that of of your dad's cousin. But do you have some more specific information to pinpoint? Like where was he captured and what did he's battalion do before it was destroyed? Or do you have any pictures of him in his uniform? Things like that can certainly be helpful.
"The nation might be powerful, yet it shall be destroyed if it seeks war; the world might be peaceful, yet it shall be doomed if it forgets war."
--The Method of the Sima, Qin Dynasty Chinese Military Classic

Shane6969

Post by Shane6969 » 17 Sep 2015, 03:42

Hi 51st,

Thanks for the reply.