16th Motorized Infantry (Pz Grenadier) Division

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the Freikorps, Reichswehr, Austrian Bundesheer, Heer, Waffen-SS, Volkssturm and Fallschirmjäger and the other Luftwaffe ground forces. Hosted by Christoph Awender.
Windhund

16th Motorized Infantry (Pz Grenadier) Division

Post by Windhund » 06 Feb 2005, 02:33

This is my first post on this fine forum, which I have been monitoring for several months. I'm attempting to obtain information on this division, particularly it's activities during and after Fall Blau. My sole source of info is the stirring description of it's deployment between Armee Groups A and B during the Stalingrad campaign contained in Paul Carell's "Hitler Moves East". Carell's description of it's probe to Astrakhan has fascinated me to this day after having read it when I was a boy, not to mention it's brilliant fighting withdrawal as it was caught up in strong Soviet armored attacks as they attempted to "spring the trap" on the German forces deep in the Caucasus (see Carell's "Scorched Earth"). These adventures inspired the nickname "Windhund" or greyhound division

Anyway, the only divisional history I've identified is Heinz Gunther Guderian's "From Normandy to the Ruhr-The History of the 116 Pz Division". This is devoted solely to the division's final incarnation as a panzer division and its campaign in the West. To my knowledge, no organized history exists that chronicles the years 1941-1943. As a matter of fact, I've only seen one picture of a Pzkw III taken in Voronezh in 1942, which I observed somewhere on the internet.

Does anyone have any photos or better yet awareness of a book of photos that might be available? I'm interested too in possibly creating a diorma using models which depicts the desperate fighting between the Volga and Don.
[/b]

Daniel L

Post by Daniel L » 06 Feb 2005, 15:09