Man claims to have survived Mengele surgery?

Discussions on the Holocaust and 20th Century War Crimes. Note that Holocaust denial is not allowed. Hosted by David Thompson.
David1819

Man claims to have survived Mengele surgery?

Post by David1819 » 01 Dec 2014, 00:02

This man claims that Mengele removed his kidney in a surgery without any anesthetic, He then claims he saw his own eyes his kidney pulsating in Mengele's hand once removed from his body

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... years.html

Ok this sounds a bit farfetched. I know Mengele done awful things but I don't think this is possible. I am no Doctor or pathologist however before Anesthetic was used in medicine the only surgery doctors could perform with patients surviving was amputation of the arms and legs. The procedure would require a belt or strap to be tied round the arm or leg to be removed to prevent blood loss, Without Anesthesia the heart rate and the blood pressure would make blood gush out hence why a belt or strap had to be tied round the arm/leg the cut from below the belt.

Considering this I would say this is not possible. The blood loss would be horrendous considering Mengele would be cutting in the side of the torso plus having to continue performing this surgery with the blood gushing out while trying to locate the kidney and trying the keep the victim still and stationary at the same time.

This is just my theory/speculation. I would be grateful if someone with a bit more knowledge of medicine could give me an opinion on this

Please share your thoughts

history1
Banned

Re: Man claims to have survived Mengele surgery?

Post by history1 » 02 Dec 2014, 13:03

I don´t know this former camp inmate or his story, but there are a few parts I don´t "like".

1. "Then I saw my kidney pulsating in his hand."
A kidney isn´t a heart that it would pulsate so that it´s recognisable. Not in situ nor ex vivo.
Compare: http://youtu.be/ou8CC4XN9wk