Hooks...?

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the Kriegsmarine except those dealing with the U-Boat forces.
PPoS

Hooks...?

Postby PPoS » 06 Nov 2004 17:34

I just saw Below and in the movie a german destroyer uses some kind of hooks (thought it was an anchor first) to damage a sub lying on the bottom. I've never ever heard of this before, neither read or seen anything of it either. It seems strange, wouldn't depth charges be more effective? And did the germans (or any nation) use these kind of "weapons"?

Tomas Ibsen

Postby Tomas Ibsen » 06 Nov 2004 23:53

Hm, never heard of it either, I have although, read that the flyers of WWI sometimes used hooks to trash the enemies planes apart, a pretty easy task, considering the planes were more or less fabric and plywood. Could it be the script-writers who miss-interpeted willingly or unwillingly?

/Tomas

varjag
Financial supporter

Postby varjag » 07 Nov 2004 12:25

I am not good at 'searching' but there was a debate about this many months ago on the forum, prompted by probably the same movie that PPoS has seen - and relating to the Far East I think. The conclusion - as I recall it - was that it's just about impossible to 'fish for submarines with hooks'.

Tomas Ibsen

Postby Tomas Ibsen » 07 Nov 2004 16:41

varjag wrote:I am not good at 'searching' but there was a debate about this many months ago on the forum, prompted by probably the same movie that PPoS has seen - and relating to the Far East I think. The conclusion - as I recall it - was that it's just about impossible to 'fish for submarines with hooks'.

Yea! I think I remember that discussion! :)

I am though, 100% positive about the aeroplane hooks. If I just could remember my sources... :x :? :oops:

/Tomas

PPoS

Postby PPoS » 07 Nov 2004 17:57

Yeah, it seems kinda silly

gabriel pagliarani

Postby gabriel pagliarani » 15 Nov 2004 16:27

PPoS wrote:Yeah, it seems kinda silly