Saburo Miyamoto biography

Discussions on all aspects of the Japanese Empire, from the capture of Taiwan until the end of the Second World War.
antariksa

Saburo Miyamoto biography

Post by antariksa » 11 May 2016, 12:56

I'm currently studying Japanese war artists, and wondering if anyone could share sources (in English) on Saburo Miyamoto's biography.

Balrog

Re: Saburo Miyamoto biography

Post by Balrog » 25 Jun 2016, 10:51

I have a book on Japanese war artists involved in propaganda work in Manchukuo called Glorify The Empireby Annika A. Culver. Saburo Miyamoto doesn't appear to be covered in that book, but you still might find some interesting information.

Wellgunde

Post by Wellgunde » 29 Jun 2016, 19:39

Miyamoto Saburo (宮本三郎)
Noted Japanese painter, magazine and newspaper illustrator, muralist, postage stamp designer, and salon painter.
Wife Fumie, one daughter, Mineko, married to English scholar Miyamoto Yokichi.
Born may 23, 1905 in Komatsu City (formerly Suesabi Village), Nomi Area, Ishikawa Prefecture; died October 13, 1974 in Tokyo
-------
1922 – Studied painting under Fujishima Takeji in Tokyo at the Kawabata Painting School
1927 – First prize at the Nikai exhibition with “White Vase of Flowers.”
1934 – Opened first one man exhibition
1936 – Nominated for membership in the Nikakai Art Exhibition organization.
1940 – Commissioned, along with Koiso Ryohei, by the Imperial Japanese Army to produce propaganda/morale pieces; dispatched to China.
1943 – His painting, “Yamashita and Percival Commander’s Conference View” exhibited at the Imperial Art Academy winning first prize. The same year he won the Asahi Prize for his painting, “Navy Paratroopers at Manado.”
1946 – Appointed lecturer at the Kanazawa Arts and Crafts College.
1947 – Formed the “Second Era Board” with eight other prominent artists.
1955 – Appointed as a part time lecturer at the Tokyo Education University.
1966 – Became a member of the Academy of Arts.