Looking for Crete Veterans

Discussions on WW2 in Africa & the Mediterranean. Hosted by Andy H
Patrick Delatte

Looking for Crete Veterans

Post by Patrick Delatte » 07 May 2002, 01:39

I am a graduate student doing research on WWII in the Mediterranean. I am looking to get in touch with veterans from the 1941 Mediterranean theater, either Axis or Allied. I am particularly interested in contacting veterans from the battle of Crete in May 1941. If anyone out there knows how I can get in touch with one of these veterans, I would be very grateful. Also, if anyone knows where I can find first hand accounts, journals, letters, etc. of the same subject I would be interested in copies of those items as well. Happy for any help I can get! 8O

Gwynn Compton

Post by Gwynn Compton » 07 May 2002, 12:03

I can go down to library and look through the Divisional history of New Zealand units in the battle. And I'll provide any pictures I can. I've always been interested in Crete, especially since as a New Zealander, and we served at Maleme, the main point of battle.

I'm the grandson of a Crete vetran, however he passed away long before I was born. And didn't leave any photos or journals :(

Annelie

Post by Annelie » 07 May 2002, 14:00

I am also very interested in any pictures from Crete.
My father was stationed there until May l945.
Always looking for maybe someone whom might have known
him or of him?

Annelie

Matt Gibbs

Recent prog

Post by Matt Gibbs » 07 May 2002, 15:17

I saw a programme recently on TV here in the UK which had some of the veterans of the Crete operation from the invasion forces. There was a group of ex Fallshirmjager who were given a special trip in the restored SwissAir Ju52. I believe the programme was made recently but I don't know more than that at the mo, except the ex paratroopers has some kind of association, which you might be able to get in touch with.
Regards

rkoy

hello all

Post by rkoy » 07 May 2002, 16:41