how to make an Einheitsfeldmütze

Discussions on all aspects of WW1, WW2 and Inter-War Era reenactment.
moses

how to make an Einheitsfeldmütze

Post by moses » 21 May 2005, 14:10

when i first started learning about reenacting, my thoughts went like this:

"wow, that's cool";
"i'd like to get into that, i wonder how much a uniform costs";
...loaded up atthefront and lostbattalions...
"oh jesus christ nevermind";
"hey i have a sewing machine, i wonder if i could make my own uniform";
"i wonder if it might also be a problem that i have no sewing experience"; * yes it was
"well at least i have the internet, wherein all human knowledge is contained, so i bet there's a howto on sewing reproduction german army uniforms somewhere"; * no there wasn't
"well christ i'll just buy a hat to start with and see if i can sew a copy of it";
... about 6 months later ...
"aha, i think i finally sewed a hat properly"

and now that i've made a few einheitsfeldmützen which look more or less right, i thought i'd do the socially conscious thing and share my knowledge of the process

i drew up my own patterns and scanned them in, and they can be found here: http://users.adelphia.net/~benjamimpier ... tterns.zip
i'm a little hazy on the ins and outs of precise printing, so i scanned them in with a ruler on them all and left the jpgs huge, and you may need to know that (i think) all the jpgs are at 200 pixels per inch.
i drew up all the patterns on 8.5"x11" paper so i could make copies easily at home, so a couple of the big parts of the pattern are split across 2 pages.
the patterns are based on a visual copy of a repro EM m43 hat from atthefront.

i'm making a hat right now and photographing and logging the process for this howto, so i'll keep adding to this thread as i go along. i'll also be editing most of the posts over and over as i remember things i've left out or as i make corrections.