Hill 192 - 11 juli 1944 - Battle of St Lô

Discussions on WW2 in Western Europe & the Atlantic.
Lodieu Didier

Post by Lodieu Didier » 02 Mar 2006, 16:05

I am studying the fight for the Hill 192 that the 2nd. US Inf. Div. took 11 july. They had been engaged against Fallschirmjäger from the III./FJR. 9 and I./Fjr. 5. I have the books from battery press and some war diaries but I am looking for memories of americans veterans from this div., particularly from the 38th INf. Rgt. and from the 741st Tank Bn. Is anyone could help me ? Thanks in advance.

tigre

Hill 192

Post by tigre » 03 Mar 2006, 00:31

Hello Didier; see if this article helps you.

Artillery Support in the Capture of Hill 192

Lieutenant Colonel Donald C. Little, Field Artillery.

The following article is one of a selected number of monographs, prepared by officers attending the 1946-1947 class of the Command and General Staff College.

Introduction.

A rolling barrage is a series of artillery fires delivered on successive lines on a fixed time schedule. During World War I, the rolling barrage was the normal method of artillery fire in an attack. Experience indicated that such a barrage was both wasteful of ammunition and ineffective, since we had no positive means of coordinating its advances exactly with that of the infantry. Yet in the assault of Hill 192 in Normandy, a rolling barrage was used to good effect by the artillery which supported the 2d Infantry Division.
The forward observer system adopted by our field artillery between World Wars I and II enabled our artillery to fire on areas of enemy resistance successively as our infantry advanced in an attack.
Why then was a rolling barrage fired during the attack on Hill 192 in July 1944?.

The Situation (Figure 1).

Hill 192 is a commanding height situated three miles east of St. Lo, France.