Looking for info re: Flags, bust, etc. from the Nazi era

Discussions on other First and Second World War militaria and collecting in general. Hosted by John G & William Kramer.
deerollman

Looking for info re: Flags, bust, etc. from the Nazi era

Post by deerollman » 08 Sep 2018 20:17

First off I hope I'm putting this in the right forum, I am an infrequent guest around here.

I am an amateur antique collector and recently purchased some stuff from nazi germany from a dealer at prices that seemed more reasonable than what I usually see. I am a total novice on the authenticity of this stuff so I'm hoping to get some info here. I'm mainly wanting to know if it is indeed real and also just out of curiosity how and where/ why etc this stuff was used. The only test I've done is the UV test, which it all passes to my untrained eye. I would appreciate any info anyone can provide.

Pictures coming momentarily.

deerollman

Re: Looking for info re: Flags, bust, etc. from the Nazi era

Post by deerollman » 08 Sep 2018 20:20

Penant thing and bust of Goering, penant is fringed all around like it was sewn onto something and removed.

Flag, maybe 2 x 3, appears to have been hung on something with safety pins. The symbol is printed on the white circle which was sewn onto the background.

Set of knives dated 1941, I found something online that suggested these were luftwaffe.

More coming.
Last edited by deerollman on 08 Sep 2018 20:37, edited 1 time in total.

deerollman

Post by deerollman » 08 Sep 2018 20:36

Two armbands, one printed and one with the circle and symbols sewn on separately, the dealer said the latter was an earlier piece.

The one anomaly I saw under the blacklight was the thead around the edges of the 2 x 3 flag. under normal light this thread is only slightly ligher than the flag and I didn't even notice it until I used UV.