Help from Japan

Discussions on alternate history, including events up to 20 years before today. Hosted by Terry Duncan.
davethelight

Help from Japan

Post by davethelight » 26 Dec 2002, 06:46

Hi everyone, I'm new to this, but it looks like fun and I'm always keen for a good debate, especially when it comes to WWII.

So here's a hypothetical scenario which may interest some of you. What would have happened if, say, Germany had been able to organise real coordination and cooperation with Japan, so that when Barborossa began in June 1941, the Japanese also attacked the Soviets in the east, just as Stalin feared. What would have happened at Moscow that winter with the 700 000 Manchurian based troops still deployed fighting the Japanese.
Zhukov would not have had this massive and formidable force to throw at the Germans, so I beleive Moscow would probably have fallen, and from there, who knows what.

I beleive it woud have been a real possibility that the Soviet Union would then have been forced to sue for peace or face complete collapse.
With the Soviet Union eliminated as an opponent, Germany would eventually have been able to force the British to come to some kind of agreement with Germany, or for Germany to even have been able to invade the UK, as it could have done so pretty much at its leisure.

The only country which could then have stood up to the Axis would have been the United States, but I beleive that with Europe and half of Asia under the control of the Axis, the United States would have decided to come to terms with Japan rather than face a war of indefinete duration and incalculable cost with the combined might of Germany and Japan.