Type VII Torpedo storrage and handling

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the submarine forces of the Kriegsmarine.
TheBlackob

Type VII Torpedo storrage and handling

Post by TheBlackob » 05 Apr 2022, 15:19

Hello all,

I am new to the whole U-Boat topic, mostly through the games UBoat and Wolfpack, and I got some questions I did not found the answer to.

These are the information I could gather, please correct my on every detail I got wrong:
The Type VII C was able to carry 14 Torpedos, 12 of which for the forward torpedo room.
4 where loaded in the tubes, but how exacly did they store and handle the other 8?
They would store up to 4 torpedos under the floor, and 2 under the bunks.

My questions:
How did they get 4 torps under the floor? From the cut out drawings I found, the torps where not stacked, meaning they all 4 would lie in a row
The holes where under the bunks and only wide enough to for one torpedo on each side, so how did they get the torpedo out of they way to store the next / how did they get it back to the hole to load them into the tubes?

Where did they store the other 2?
I've read about torpedos stored between the pressure hull and the outer hull. Did they do this?
In the games I mentioned, you can reload all 8 torpedos from under water, which would not be possible with externaly stored torpedos.

Did the crew prepare for reloading once they were called to action stations? Like, already removing the beds and lowering the crane assembly.
Or would they only do so once they were told to reload?

Why did it take several minutes to reload a torpedo?
In my naive understanding if prepared correctly (crane assembly already lowered, torpedo already hooked on the crane) it would not take that long to raise alt least the first the torpedo from the ground and insert it into the tube.
What other steps were taken for it to take so long?

Lastly: Could you recommend a book on the topic?

jbroshot

Re: Type VII Torpedo storrage and handling