'Pirate Seaplanes' bomb French base?

Discussions on all aspects of France during the Inter-War era and Second World War.
Hama

'Pirate Seaplanes' bomb French base?

Post by Hama » 31 Dec 2017, 13:48

I found an interesting news snippet on an ebay listing, but unfortunately the print in the screenshot is too small to read the whole thing. The listing says the paper is dated 1937, and the headline reads "Pirate Seaplanes Bomb French Mediterranean Air Base, Two Ships".

Does anyone have a clue what this incident was? I have no knowledge of France being at war with any major power in 1937, and I have serious doubts about actual pirates with seaplanes operating in the Med, so I'm curious what this could have really been. Looking close at the screenshot I can see it mentions something about the "Franco-Spanish Frontier", so maybe this was a spillover incident from the Spanish Civil War?

Screenshot here: http://www.historicalnews.com/ebay/2016 ... ictory.jpg

Loïc

Re: 'Pirate Seaplanes' bomb French base?

Post by Loïc » 31 Dec 2017, 21:05

No doubt, certainly one of the numerous naval incidents in the Mediterranean sea during the Spanish Civil War with both spanish naval/air recognized-legal/republican or rebel/nationalist forces, and mainly this last side concerning injuries against the French civilian merchant fleet and even military (67 attacks, sea boading etc... in 3 years : 55 caused by nationalists including one against a warship*, 7 by republicans including injuries due to their mines, 5 unknown)

*that is the point your San Francisco Chronicle seems to describe, the bombing of the 25th october 1937 against the Chasseur 91 based in Fornells, Minorque/Menorca, local Baleares historian attribute it to the Condor Legion
there was also a cargo boat Oued-Mellah the same day so maybe is the explanation for the subtitle «two ships»