Maori Battalions of the New Zealand Army?

Discussions on all aspects of the The United Kingdom & its Empire and Commonwealth during the Inter-War era and Second World War. Hosted by Andy H
Andy H
Forum Staff

Maori Battalions of the New Zealand Army?

Post by Andy H » 13 Jan 2004, 13:35

When reading about the action fought by New Zealand forces in WW2, the Moari's seem to have there own seperate formation. Was this a historical feature, a racial or social issue or were the Maori units seen akin to the Gurkha units in the British Army?

Andy H

Larso

Post by Larso » 13 Jan 2004, 15:11

I'm not an expert on this topic but I think the Maories were formed into an engineer battalion in World War 1. In World War 2 they had a full infantry battalion (the 28th) in the 2nd NZ division. I don't think it was like the Ghurkas, perhaps more like the Black and Nissie (?) units in the American army. However I don't know what the social standing of the Maories was at this time, so I may well be mistaken. They are certainly a unit remembered with much pride by all New Zealanders (though I've read they were criticised for their behaviour towards prisoners) New Zealand also fielded several Fijian battalions though I don't know if they saw service.

DrG

Post by DrG » 13 Jan 2004, 17:16

This site has a very detailed history of the 28th Maori Battalion: http://28bn.homestead.com/home.html.
One of the most heroic battles fought by that battalion was in Takrouna (Tunisia, April 1943): http://28bn.homestead.com/history11.html.
(Italian article: http://www.amicifolgore.com/congedati/r ... _0353.html).

Gwynn Compton

Post by Gwynn Compton » 16 Jan 2004, 03:51