How Do You Get Published in Journals?

Discussions on books and other reference material on the WW1, Inter-War or WW2 as well as the authors. Hosted by Andy H.
HistPolity

How Do You Get Published in Journals?

Post by HistPolity » 01 Jul 2019, 19:06

I noticed the other thread in this section about AHF Members who've been published by academic journals.

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=224539

I was wondering how does one accomplish this? I have a masters degree in history and I have had articles published for a couple of prominent current affairs sites. Do I need to have a PhD to be considered for the likes of the Journal of Military History or would a well written piece suffice?

Mori

Re: How Do You Get Published in Journals?

Post by Mori » 01 Jul 2019, 21:30

I've just gone through the process for War in History. It's pretty simple: register on the submission web site, fill the forms, load your article. And that's it.

There wasn't any condition related to academic diploma.

I received a reply within 6 weeks. Both peer reviews were positive so the article was accepted immediately.

Tom from Cornwall

Post by Tom from Cornwall » 02 Jul 2019, 19:22

Mori,

How many words did your submission contain? Is there a particular range that they look for?

Regards

Tom

Mori

Post by Mori » 02 Jul 2019, 20:04

Usually the journals give their preferred format. AFAIR, War in History likes 50 000 (spaces included) signs articles.

Tom from Cornwall

Post by Tom from Cornwall » 02 Jul 2019, 20:35

Thanks, that's useful to know.

Regards

Tom

Sid Guttridge

Post by Sid Guttridge » 03 Jul 2019, 12:50

Hi HistPolity,

I would suggest that your choice of subject is important. Find a significant historical niche that is currently ill- or un-served and make it your own through original research.