Document in the book "Where the iron crosses grow" R.Forczyk

Discussions on the Holocaust and 20th Century War Crimes. Note that Holocaust denial is not allowed. Hosted by David Thompson.
edgardo gil

Document in the book "Where the iron crosses grow" R.Forczyk

Post by edgardo gil » 05 Oct 2014, 04:09

In the mentioned book there is a document with the following caption:

Part of the daily log from a German security unit in the Crimea, for March 17, 1942. Note the numerous notations for “Juden Akten” or Jewish Action, indicating liquidation operations against local civilians. The banality of evil is quite evident on this piece of bureaucratic memorabilia, with the most interesting touch being that the Germans actually used a stamp for ethnic-cleansing activities. (NARA)

And this is the document:

Well, I am not an expert in german language but I guess that in the document it reads "zu den akten" and not "juden akten" translated like "jewish action"
Somebody could translate the meaning of "zu den akten" I guess that it means something about documents.
Many thanks.

Maverick57

Re: Document in the book "Where the iron crosses grow" R.For

Post by Maverick57 » 05 Oct 2014, 06:39

Hey Eduardo,

"zu den Akten" means s.th. like transfered to the archive.

history1
Banned

Post by history1 » 05 Oct 2014, 10:43

Agreed, an error which could be easy avoided when comparing the letters "J" and Z" in Sütterlin!

"Zu den Akten" can be also translated as " to the files/records"

edgardo gil

Post by edgardo gil » 05 Oct 2014, 17:29

Many thanks, I don´t read the whole book but the comment of the author about this document make me wonder if it worths to read all the book.

history1
Banned

Post by history1 » 12 Oct 2014, 09:50

Note that the caption on the top of this file reads "Bearbeitung und Ausgang des Schriftstückes" = handling and way out/disposition of the paper.

I know how I would handle this book....... depositing in the circular file (= waste paper basket).

harmel