AHF author interviews: Rebecca Cantrell

Discussions on WW2 and pre-WW2 related movies, games, military art and other fiction.
Marcus

AHF author interviews: Rebecca Cantrell

Post by Marcus » 02 Dec 2011, 14:27

Rebecca Cantrell has written several fictional books the Third Reich era, including "A Trace of Smoke" and "A Night of Long Knives".
How did you get contact to publishers when starting out?

My agent marketed A TRACE OF SMOKE for me. I met her through the Maui Writers Conference. They had an online submission forum where I submitted my book to and 23 agents and editors signed up to read it. Two agents and one editor were interested, and, luckily, one of them was my dream agent, Elizabeth Evans at JVNLA.

Have you got any specific training (history degree, writing courses)?

I have an undergraduate degree in European History, German, and Creative Writing from Carnegie Mellon. I’ve taken many writing classes at conferences and university extension classes since then too. But the best practice was hours and hours of reading and writing.

How did you first become interested in military history and what made you choose the topic of your first book?

I’m more interested in how wars affect individuals than in military history. The genesis of A TRACE OF SMOKE was a faded pink triangle pasted on the wall of Dachau Concentration Camp. I wanted to know more about the people who had worn it.

My German host brother and I were the same age and often went clubbing in Berlin. He had perfectly styled 80s bottle-blonde hair, an extravagant fashion sense, and he was gay into the marrow of his bones. We would snag a table at Metropol where we would both drink a Berliner white beer (his with a red shot of syrup, mine with a green) and then dance with our respective guys. At the end of the night, we’d hook back up and start our long bus ride home. Forty years before those innocent evenings would have been enough to send him to the camps.