Rules of War for Executing a Wounded Comrade

Discussions on all aspects of the First World War not covered in the other sections. Hosted by Terry Duncan.
scotisle

Rules of War for Executing a Wounded Comrade

Post by scotisle » 07 Oct 2018, 16:13

I'm a History teacher in NYC. An English teacher reached out regarding the Rules of War in WWI. She's teaching All Quiet on the Western Front and the students were wondering how different armies instructed soldiers about mercy killings. Were their instructions? I took an educated guess that it depended on the national army and the resources available. I would guess that an army like Russia's with less medical supplies would have more mercy killings, while Britain and the USA would have more men brought back to hospitals. The students were wondering if anyone was ever prosecuted for a mercy killing in WWI? It's not my area of expertise, unfortunately. Thank you!

Sheldrake

Re: Rules of War for Executing a Wounded Comrade

Post by Sheldrake » 07 Oct 2018, 17:44

I can only write about the British. There is nothing in Kings Regulations about mercy killing. It was proper to put a horse or mule out of its misery, but it was and is not lawful to kill a wounded man. Morphine was issued as a pain killer.

This did not mean that it did not happen. There is an account of an otherwise unwounded man shot by one of his comrades when he fell into a shell hole on Passchendaele ridge and was sinking slowly into mud that was reaching his face.

Academic references here

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10. ... ode=smil20

scotisle

Post by scotisle » 18 Oct 2018, 03:18

Sheldrake,

That academic source is perfect! Even mentions AQOTWF. Well done!

Habu

Post by Habu » 26 Oct 2018, 19:39