Newspapers during the Third Reich

Discussions on the propaganda, architecture and culture in the Third Reich.
marcusio

Newspapers during the Third Reich

Post by marcusio » 11 Jul 2003, 23:59

Hello,

I am hoping that someone may be able to help. I am a researcher working for Universal Films on a movie that will revolve around the last voyage of the Hindenburg, and I need to find accurate historical information about the Third Reich.

I have several areas I am investigating one of which is Newspapers in 1930s Germany: what were the names of all the national and regional newspapers published at the time?

I would be really grateful for any tips or information that you may be able to provide.

Thanks for your time and assistance.

Marcus Parmegiani

Javier Acuña

Post by Javier Acuña » 12 Jul 2003, 01:16

Would you put our names at the end of the film?? :lol:

Javier Acuña

Post by Javier Acuña » 12 Jul 2003, 17:03

These is a short list of german newspapers of those years and a little history (if available), source: Rise and Fall of the 3rd Reich, Shirer.

Vossische Zeitung, closed in April 1st, 1934 (liberal)
Berliner Tageblatt, closed in 1937 (liberal)
Frankfurter Zeitung
Deutsche Allgemeine Zeitung (conservative)
Völkischer Beobachter (Voelkischer Beobachter) (nazi)
Der Angriff (nazi, articles of Dr. Göbbels appeared here quite often)

I hope it helps

nondescript handle

Re: Newspapers during the Third Reich

Post by nondescript handle » 12 Jul 2003, 17:53

marcusio wrote:[...] 1930s Germany: what were the names of all the national and regional newspapers published at the time? [...]
In 1932 there were 4703 newspapers in Germany (source: Hermann Meyn "Massenmedien in Deutschland" 1999 page 45) so a list of all newspapers is quite ambitious.

Regards
Mark

marcusio

Post by marcusio » 15 Jul 2003, 15:39