Any information on Hitlerjugend (Hitler Youth) please?

Discussions on all aspects of the NSDAP, the other party organizations and the government. Hosted by Michael Miller & Igor Karpov.
Bon2709

Any information on Hitlerjugend (Hitler Youth) please?

Post by Bon2709 » 29 Jun 2002, 19:49

I have an armband used by the Hitlerjugend (Hitler Youth), the youth organisation in the Third Reich.

I know next to nothing about the Hitler Youth organisation but would like to know more about their participation during WW2, what they were actually used for during the war and any other relevant information if possible.

If someone can give me any information regarding the Hitlerjugend it will be much appreciated.

Marcus

Post by Marcus » 29 Jun 2002, 19:53

The establishment of Jugendbund der NSDAP was announced on 8 Mar 1922 in the Völkischer Beobachter and the inaugural meeting was held 13 May. This organisation was not the only nazi youth organisation in Germany, but it was the only one that was affiliated with the NSDAP. The leader of the Jugendbund was Adolf Lenk and he answered to the Oberster SA-führer, head of the SA. The Jugendbund was divided into the Jungmannschaften (boys 14-16 years old) and the Jungsturm Adolf Hitler (16-18 years old).

The first public appearance of the Jugendbund was in the "battle of Coburg" 14-15 Oct 1922, when elements of it took part along with some 800 SA-members. In 1923 the Jugendbund held its first national congress, having expanded beyond the boundaries of Bavaria.
It was meant to take part in the Beer Hall Putsch of 1923, but did not, however it was banned following the failure of the Putsch along with the rest of the NSDAP.

During the time the NSDAP was outlawed, Lenk made two attempts to resurrect the Jugendbund, first as the Vaterländische Jugendverband Grossdeutschlands and later as the Grossdeutsche Jugendbewegung (GDJB), but both attempts ended with his arrest.