DAK halftracks, Sd.Kfz250/251?

Discussions on the vehicles used by the Axis forces. Hosted by Christian Ankerstjerne
PanzerModeler

DAK halftracks, Sd.Kfz250/251?

Post by PanzerModeler » 18 Jun 2020, 02:19

Hello guys,

Since this is my first post I should probably introduce myself a little. I'm a scale model builder, and also a bit of a history fan in general, ranging from documentaries and books to historical themed simulators, to collecting artifacts, etc.

What I've run into recently is that I've started building some North Africa / Western Desert campaign themed models, planes and tanks. I had sources for the aircraft that were used, and for the tanks as well, but I've run into an area where I can't quite find answers and that is "What halftracks did the DAK use?"... I've already got Panzer IIIs and IVs, Stuarts, Grants, Lees, Crusaders, Matildas, and a Tiger done, but no supporting vehicles yet.

So, I have a few halftracks already on the shelf, but I'm not sure if they're correct for DAK schemes. Is there a reference where I can find out which sub variants were actually used by the DAK? I wouldn't want to build up and paint a 251/9 Ausf.D Stummel or something, and then find out that they never used them in North Africa!

Alanmccoubrey

Re: DAK halftracks, Sd.Kfz250/251?

Post by Alanmccoubrey » 18 Jun 2020, 08:23

There was some discussion of this topic.

viewtopic.php?f=47&t=248024
Alan

PanzerModeler

Post by PanzerModeler » 18 Jun 2020, 09:14

Hi Alan!

Thanks for that link, I've read through it and got quite a bit from it, actually. I hadn't thought about the possibility of some 251/10's being "field made" vehicles but it makes sense!

Was there any information about the 251/9 or 250/8 'Stummel' versions being used or not used by the DAK? And, finally, same question for the 250/9 with the 20mm turret, or was that too late to make it over?

yantaylor

Post by yantaylor » 18 Jun 2020, 11:51