German Fighter Attack on RAF ASR Launch

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the Luftwaffe air units and general discussions on the Luftwaffe.
All Things Polar

German Fighter Attack on RAF ASR Launch

Post by All Things Polar » 01 Feb 2017, 02:03

Dear All,

I am new to the AHF, and this is my first post.

On Jan. 23, 1943 RAF Air/Sea Rescue Pinnace 1289 was proceeding on her course some 15 miles south of St. Catherine’s Point, Isle of Wight, when she was heavily attacked by enemy aircraft. Four diving attacks were made by fighters who pressed home their attacks at very close range.

The crew of the pinnace suffered killed and wounded by splinters from cannon shell and bullets, and this leads me to think the attackers were FW 190s armed with machine guns and 2 cm/3 cm cannon. The boat made so much water that she could not reach her base, and had to be beached east of Shanklin Pier, Isle of Wight.

I am keen to obtain information from the German side, especially the specific pilots and aircraft involved in this encounter. Many thanks in advance for any assistance.

Glenn

Peter
Financial supporter

Re: German Fighter Attack on RAF ASR Launch

Post by Peter » 13 Feb 2017, 15:18