Q: Ju 88 as a dive-bomber? Units at Sola, Norway 1941

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the Luftwaffe air units and general discussions on the Luftwaffe.
67SATisfaction

Q: Ju 88 as a dive-bomber? Units at Sola, Norway 1941

Postby 67SATisfaction » 08 Jan 2018 16:47

Good morning all,

1.) I'm seeking any information or knowledge about missions or operations where the Ju 88 was used as a dive-bomber, and I'd love to have any references, comments or quotes from aircrews who used the Ju 88's as a dive bomber and the use of its automatic dive bombing flight controller..

2.) I'm also seeking any information of Ju 88 units and types (A-1, A-2?) deployed (under KG 30?) to Sola or Forus Airfields near Stavanger, Norway from April 1940 to roughly April 1942.

BACKGROUND:
I am a hobbyist, and I'm researching the use of the Ju 88's dive-bombing-controller for a local museum exhibit. My family is loaning the museum an example of the automatic dive bombing controller. My stepfather "recovered" the controller from Sola Airfield when the war was over. My research so far indicates the dive-bombing-controller wasn't used much operationally because the Ju-88 was so good at operations more important than dive-bombing.

Thank you,
- Art
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Knouterer

Re: Q: Ju 88 as a dive-bomber? Units at Sola, Norway 1941

Postby Knouterer » 08 Jan 2018 19:51

The Ju88 was certainly often used as a dive bomber. To mention just one mission, an attack on Portsmouth during the Battle of Britain:

As related by P. Jenkins: Battle over Portsmouth, a City at War in 1940 (1986):