SS battles

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the Freikorps, Reichswehr, Austrian Bundesheer, Heer, Waffen-SS, Volkssturm and Fallschirmjäger and the other Luftwaffe ground forces. Hosted by Christoph Awender.
Cammin1

SS battles

Post by Cammin1 » 17 Apr 2004, 22:44

What battles did the SS come closet to totally dominating the enemy? Where were their greatest "Victorys"? I'm a bit of newbie and my knowledge is mostly of equipment/individual personalities and the like. I'm trying to learn more of specific battles.
Thx

Marcus

Post by Marcus » 17 Apr 2004, 23:08

Please keep in mind the difference between the Waffen-SS (the armed parts fighting alongside the regular armed forces) and the SS as a whole, or the discussions will become confusing.

/Marcus

Hans_Rudel

Re: SS battles

Post by Hans_Rudel » 17 Apr 2004, 23:11

Cammin1 wrote:What battles did the SS come closet to totally dominating the enemy? Where were their greatest "Victorys"? I'm a bit of newbie and my knowledge is mostly of equipment/individual personalities and the like. I'm trying to learn more of specific battles.
Thx
I would go with Arnhem or Kharkov, although, some of their greatest battles were not victories. A lot of their greatest preformances ended in defeat.

Benoit Douville

Post by Benoit Douville » 22 Apr 2004, 03:12

One of their greatest Battle indeed ended in defeat. The Kurland Pocket Battle started in September 1944 and the Waffen-SS Hold the Soviets untill May 1945! What an amazing defensive Battle if you considered that the Waffen-SS were outnumbered about 10-1 against the Red Army.

Regards

Conacher1941

Post by Conacher1941 » 22 Apr 2004, 03:21

Ah May 1945, what a great time to be in the Waffen SS.