Discussions on WW2 in Eastern Europe.
Ezboard

French attack on Germany 1939?

Post by Ezboard » 29 Sep 2002, 13:22

Richard
Unregistered User
(6/23/00 2:14:00 pm)
Reply French attack on Germany 1939?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Can you help me with info on the French attack on Germany 1939?

Chad Crompton
Unregistered User
(6/23/00 8:31:53 pm)
Reply French attack
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello,

I'm not an expert on this subject, but here's what happened basically. Because Germany was at war with the Republic of Poland, most oftjhe able units from the Siegfried line had been called to service in Poland, and various weak units and misc. units were placed to guard the German rear against any French intervention. The French, were reluctant to take advantage of the situation but, they did manage to probe a bit into Germany territory, but they pulled back, because French Intelligence overestimated the strength of the Wehrmact in Germany proper.

Cheers,
Chad

Glenn Steinberg
Unregistered User
(6/23/00 9:36:44 pm)
Reply Re: French attack
The French attacked into the Saar region. You say, Chad, that they pulled out because they overestimated German forces. I find that interpretation curious. Are you aware how long it took the Allies in 1944-1945 to break through the Saar region -- when Germany was much, much less powerful in terms of its forces there than they had been in 1939? If the much, much more powerful Allies had great difficulty in penetrating through the much, much weaker German defenses in this region in 1944-1945, why do you think their failure in 1939 was due purely to timidity and to an overestimation of German forces? Could it be that the Saar is just a very difficult region to penetrate?

Gareth Collins
Global user
(6/23/00 10:27:46 pm)
Reply Re: French attack on Germany 1939?