Mal-treatment of German POWs

Discussions on the Holocaust and 20th Century War Crimes. Note that Holocaust denial is not allowed. Hosted by David Thompson.
bob lembke
In memoriam

Mal-treatment of German POWs

Post by bob lembke » 26 May 2005, 19:55

[Split from "Ambrose Attacks"]

Guys (and Gals);

I only have limited comments on this guy, as I will not read him. (I know, that sounds like an Ambrose trait.) I am a student of WW I, not WW II, and I do not want to waste my time reading him, and possibly poison my understanding of what he was writing about. Besides, I generally avoid secondary sources.

I noted the description of him as a "cheer-leader"; that is my term for him also.

A few notes, though:

I have interest in the mal-treatment of German POWs by the Americans and French after WW II in Europe. It seems that about one million to 1.1 million German POWs died in custody in the west in about a year. The orders (unwritten, as far as can be determined; they learned from the German experience) seemed to come from Eisenhower. The death rate in the American and French camps seem to have been 100-150 times as high as the rate in German POW camps for western Allied troops (where the overall rate was a bit lower than in the US Army of the period in peace-time), 10 times as high as in the post-war Russian camps, and about 150% as that in Andersonville.

I am not trying to start a new topic; I am getting to a point re: Ambrose. However, I have strong unpublished collaboration; my cousin Siegfried, a Wehrmacht Leutnant, was in those camps, almost dying, but saved in his last camp by the commandant, a French major who was a POW of the Germans for 5 years, and had been correctly treated, and told his POWs that a war crime was being inflicted on them. Also, I have a couple of sources who were in US Military Intelligence, one very highly placed.