How Good Actually Was the Bismarck?

Discussions on all (non-biographical) aspects of the Kriegsmarine except those dealing with the U-Boat forces.
SpicyJuan

How Good Actually Was the Bismarck?

Post by SpicyJuan » 22 Mar 2015, 08:09

I have heard several times now from revisionist hidtorians and other forumites that the Bismarck really wasn't that great of a ship, especially compared to the equivalents of its time. Since the Kriegsmarine, and navies in general aren't really my expertise, I was wondering what your thoughts are on this. Does the Bismark live up to its "hype", or was it really not all that great?

RandJS

Re: How Good Actually Was the Bismarck?

Post by RandJS » 27 Mar 2015, 04:05

SpicyJuan,

While I am no expert, since no one has responded, I will give it a try. The designers went to what they knew best, the Baden/Bayern WWI type and drew from that. The ship used 4 twin turrets as apposed to 3 three gun turrets, which required a longer armor belt increased weight and left the Bismark with one gun less than some of her contemporaries. Her wider beam gave increased stability as a gun platform in seas, necessitated increased length which increased weight. Her broader beam also contributed to higher fuel consumption at speed. She used only three turbines, as opposed to four in her contemporaries. The boiler and engine rooms were large, allowing ease in maintenance, but would have taken on hundreds of tons of water if breached. When Bismark's propeller shaft and one of her rudders were jammed by the torpedo hit, she became difficult to maneuver, while a ship with four shafts, steering would probably have been manageable with one shaft/rudder jammed. The side armor layout was fair, but the rumor of superior steel was just a myth. Horizontal armor, as witnessed by the high number of casualties and damage caused by low level attacks to Tirpitz, did not compare favorably with other nations ships. Her main armament capabilities were good, but her slower rate