Why did the first Sino-Japanese war in 1894 take place?

Discussions on all aspects of the Japanese Empire, from the capture of Taiwan until the end of the Second World War.
AiyshaKendall

Why did the first Sino-Japanese war in 1894 take place?

Post by AiyshaKendall » 05 Jan 2022 04:05

Hello everyone,

We all know that the Sino-Japanese war of 1931-1945 is well documented, however the earlier one from 1894-1895 isn't. I've been looking for sources such as Wikipedia and History websites all over the Internet for answers, but some offer different reasons than others.

I'm just a novice when it comes to knowledge on this war as well, so can someone inform me on what and why the First Sino-Japanese war happened and whether it played as a morale boost for Japan to go on to have a war with Russia a decade later?

jerryasher

Re: Why did the first Sino-Japanese war in 1894 take place?

Post by jerryasher » 05 Jan 2022 06:28