Why did the Japanese accept American occupation so easily?

Discussions on all aspects of the Japanese Empire, from the capture of Taiwan until the end of the Second World War.
richardrli

Why did the Japanese accept American occupation so easily?

Post by richardrli » 03 Nov 2004 08:51

One thing that always amazes me is that when Japan surrendered, they accepted the Americans so willingly, I mean Japan is an Asian country and they're proud of their history. They hated western influence prior to the war and always took themselves as the pride of the Asian race, ready to stand up to western aggression, it seems strange that they even welcomed the Americans at the end. OK I know they lost the war and that but it's still weird?!

Andy H
Forum Staff

Post by Andy H » 03 Nov 2004 11:32

I'm no expert on this matter but I believe that the co-operation of the Emperor had a lot to do with this compliance in regards to a relatively peaceful occupation. His word was enough for the vast majority of the popn.

Abu El Banat

richardrli

Post by richardrli » 03 Nov 2004 12:16

But my question stands, why were the Japanese willing to give up important aspects of their culture to take in American, a lot of what you see in Japan is American and that is mainly the result of the occupation. I doubt a country like China would comply so readily.

Goldfish

Post by Goldfish » 03 Nov 2004 13:49