German chromium and nickel supplies and use: statistics?

Discussions on the economic history of the nations taking part in WW2, from the recovery after the depression until the economy at war.
jmkorhonen

German chromium and nickel supplies and use: statistics?

Post by jmkorhonen » 26 Mar 2013, 12:04

Greetings to all!

I'm a PhD student writing about history of technology and innovations, and I'm currently writing a paper where one of the examples used is the substitution of nickel and chromium in German jet engines. However, I realized that I'm lacking statistics on the chromium supplies and use. I managed to find a source for nickel - there's apparently a table "German nickel supplies, consumption, and stocks" on the U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey, Volume 1, p. 264 - but I don't have access to the full Survey. I was wondering if anyone here could help me out with a bit of data and a reference as to where it came from - or point me to a (preferably English language) source?

Also, any examples of quantities of nickel and chromium used in actual equipment (e.g. aircraft, tanks, artillery, U-boats) would be very welcome!

PS. here's the nickel supplies, consumption and stocks, in metric tons, 1939-1944:

Year: 1939,1940,1941,1942,1943,1944
Supplies: 8500,13700,8800,5500,7600,10900
Consumption: 10100,11600,9200,8000,9400,9500
Stocks: 9200,11300,10900,10400,8600,7900

Mangrove

Re: German chromium and nickel supplies and use: statistics?

Post by Mangrove » 26 Mar 2013, 15:38

jmkorhonen wrote:I was wondering if anyone here could help me out with a bit of data and a reference as to where it came from - or point me to a (preferably English language) source?
If you are living at or near Helsinki, I recommend visiting the National Archive and browsing through their collection of German microfilms. The Library of the National Defence University is another good place to visit for references.

jmkorhonen

Re: German chromium and nickel supplies and use: statistics?