Ringstand/Tobruk - a question about construction elements

Discussions on the fortifications, artillery, & rockets used by the Axis forces.
Eugenius

Ringstand/Tobruk - a question about construction elements

Post by Eugenius » 20 Nov 2019, 14:19

Hi guys, I'm a novice here, so I'm sorry if my question was already replied earlier. Here are some pictures of Ringstand located at 59.77091, 30.22428 - a part of field fortifications built most likely in 1942 - 43 south of Leningrad/St. Petersburg:

DSCF5785-2.jpg
DSCF5785-2.jpg (206.02 KiB) Viewed 2052 times
DSCF5787-2.jpg
DSCF5787-2.jpg (205.91 KiB) Viewed 2052 times
A question: what is the purpose of rectangular openings/niches under the roof? They are ca. 30 - 40 cm deep, partly filled with concrete crumbs, no any traces of wood was found inside. Openings are located in the upper part of only shelter, not fighting casemate. Generally it looks like the roof is placed on rectangular columns. You may see through the openings on corners:

DSCF5788-2.jpg
DSCF5788-2.jpg (209.99 KiB) Viewed 2052 times
The same openings are on another Ringstand in that area (59.78214, 30.22277):

DSCF5741-2.jpg
DSCF5741-2.jpg (192.46 KiB) Viewed 2052 times
Was it just a result of concrete deficit? Or an attempt to create a kind of shock-absorbing layer of wood or sand inside roof slab for better protection of the pillbox? Any other options?

Many thanks in advance for your comments.

Private Drew

Re: Ringstand/Tobruk - a question about construction elements

Post by Private Drew » 20 Nov 2019, 21:52

Those definitely don't look like they were a construction "accident", but rather look planned. Perhaps a window? :)

TH

Post by TH » 20 Nov 2019, 23:12

I don't know, perhaps slits for observation or signaling? If the openings cut through the entire wall, that is.

herring

Post by herring » 20 Nov 2019, 23:36

Looks like observation slots made in purpose.In Kreta I've seen a Tobruk with similar window (Platanias hill).