Bunker ID?

Discussions on the fortifications, artillery, & rockets used by the Axis forces.
Aufklarung

Bunker ID?

Post by Aufklarung » 06 Jul 2003, 02:20

I'm guessing Erik will be the one to ask but it's an open question.
I got a book from the wife the other day titled D-Day The First 24 Hoursby Will Fowler(Brown Books 2003). In it I noticed number of errors in the photos but this one I have no answer to. The caption says it's a MG bunker on the Atlantic wall but that doesn't sit right with me. Now, I'm no bunker expert but the thing doesn't look German and the terrain doesn't look coastal. If I had to guess, I'd say French on the Maginot line. Am I wrong? Is Mr Fowler wrong?
Just being curious and I know Erik can probably shed some more light on this.
Attachments
Bunker.JPG
Picture Credit:US Nat Archives
Bunker.JPG (151.97 KiB) Viewed 1456 times

Christoph Awender
Forum Staff

Post by Christoph Awender » 06 Jul 2003, 03:35

Hello!

In my oppinion this is definately a part of the french Magino line with some 8,8 "scratches".

\Christoph

Aufklarung

Post by Aufklarung » 06 Jul 2003, 04:55

Hi Christoph
I too think it's Maginot Line but the damage maybe wasn't done by the Germans in '40 but by the Amis in '44. The photo is colour and the credit is US Nat Archives. This leads me to believe it may also be around the Seigfried Line somewhere. There were many errors in the book.
Of course it could be as it says and be German from the Atlantic wall. I do not know. I await a bunker expert. :wink:

regards
A :)

Christoph Awender
Forum Staff

Post by Christoph Awender » 06 Jul 2003, 05:28

I have a color foto from 1940 in my collection (German PK) which shows the same type of cupola at the Maginot line.

\Christoph

Dan Mouritzsen

Sechsschartenturm.

Post by Dan Mouritzsen » 06 Jul 2003, 09:03

Hi