Was the Gewehr 43 a good rifle?

Discussions on the small arms used by the Axis forces.
Daniel L

Was the Gewehr 43 a good rifle?

Post by Daniel L » 22 Feb 2003, 22:18

I would like to hear your opinion about this semi- automatic rifle. Some people states that it's a good gun and other claims it be a bad one, what are your thoughts?

Best regards/ Daniel

Ranger

Post by Ranger » 23 Feb 2003, 00:17

I have no personal experience with this rifle but from what I have read it lacked the dependability of the Garand.

It also had a shorter barrel than the K98, this did not allow the powder to burn completely before the bullet exited the barrel. This resulted in a very large muzzle flash and loss of muzzle velocity. The lower muzzle velocity affected (negatively) the weapon's maximum effective range. How ever it does seem that many Gewehr 43s were equiped with Optics and used in a sniper role so one would have to assume that muzzle velocity and range could not have been too greatly affected. Still, the increased muzzle flash would be a big problem, especially for a sniper.

Douglas Jr.

Personal opinon...

Post by Douglas Jr. » 23 Feb 2003, 06:44

Well,

I own a K-43 rifle (new name of the G-43 from late 1944 on), although I never shoot it. The one that I got has the sniper optics (a ZF4 original scope :D !) and whole thing is pretty attractive. It is a heavy weapon (4,7kg - or 10.3 pounds), holding 10 rounds in its magazine. Not so balanced but still can give you a good sense of accuracity and power. It is also very well constructed although very though finished

If I were a german front line soldier I would like to have one of these instead of one of the Mauser 98K, mainly because its self-loading action. A good place to have more info about this weapon is the http://www.gewehr43.com site.

Here are some pictures of mine.

Regards,

Douglas.

Ranger

Post by Ranger » 23 Feb 2003, 08:50