Colonial uniform or earlier?

Discussions on all aspects of the German Colonies and Overseas Expeditions. Hosted by Chris Dale.
eindhoven

Colonial uniform or earlier?

Post by eindhoven » 15 Jan 2017, 03:49

This is a relative of mine I recently discovered. I am trying to determine if he is wearing a Schutztruppe uniform or if it's not at all African Colonial or East Asian Expeditionary. The unit is indicated. All assistance is greatly appreciated.
Gierhl.jpg
Gierhl.jpg (77.33 KiB) Viewed 1111 times
Giehrl unit.jpg

Tanzania

Re: Colonial uniform or earlier?

Post by Tanzania » 15 Jan 2017, 12:08

I am really not a uniform expert. Due to this it´s maybe only for me exceptional that he wear a straw hat and an unusual high scarf / shirt (?)

I am constantly surprised about the tightly uniforms (slim fast) at that time, which were maybe fashioned, but absolutely impractical and unhygienically. (Mit solchen Tropenuniformen müssen die Träger nach kurzer Zeit gerochen haben wie die Otter)

But, of course your question isn´t answered with this and reply is still forthcoming.
“Day by day and almost minute by minute the past was brought up to date. . . . All History was a
palimpsest, scraped clean and reinscribed exactly as often as was necessary” – G. ORWELL 1984

eindhoven

Post by eindhoven » 15 Jan 2017, 17:56

Tanzania - Thank you kindly for your reply. I am particularly fond of this catchy uniform (Aber ich stimme mit Ihnen über den Geroch). I imagine it looked like so in color having spent the better part of last night researching. Corrections welcome.

A very big thank you to germancolonialuniforms.co.uk - without which I would likely have toiled for longer.
Gierhl Kopie.jpg
Gierhl Kopie.jpg (145.8 KiB) Viewed 1081 times
A new area for me having my head sunk in WW2 for roughly 4 decades.

His uniform is definitely that of the Ostasiatische Expeditionskorps and luckily my Großonkel also wrote a book about his experiences which I purchased last night.