SS Fez Real or Fake

Discussions on Axis uniforms, headgear and insignia. Hosted by John G & William Kramer.
lilja

SS Fez Real or Fake

Post by lilja » 04 Mar 2003, 08:43

I'm a newbie in the field of collecting uniforms and headgear. So I would like some hints about what to look for in a ss dress fez.

Thanks/ Lilja

Arminiusder Cherusker1

SS-Fez, Real or Fake?

Post by Arminiusder Cherusker1 » 04 Mar 2003, 18:42

lilja,
first excuse my bad english.
It's not a fake, the members of the 13.Waffen-Gebirgsdivision der Waffen-
SS "HANDSCHAR" had red and fieldgreyfezes instead of the usual SS-
mountain-cap wiith "Edelweiss".
Arminius

davies435

Fez's

Post by davies435 » 04 Mar 2003, 20:11

Lilja,
welcome!
You have picked THE most dangerous SS item to start collecting!
A lot of money is to be made by picking-up a genuine SS cap eagle...............going to turkey and buying a used ex-turkey military Fez (which are nearly identical)........putting he two together and "eBaying" it.
If you get hold of some old tread and use that to sew the two together..................you're on a winner! No test will reveal you're pushing-out a fake. I've seen and handled many many Fez's..........................but only ever seem three I would part with big-bucks for!
Detecting fake helmets is sometimes hard.................fez's are an absolute minefield!

Mike

lilja

Post by lilja » 10 Mar 2003, 21:19

thanks davies435 for your reply. it's a tragedy that the market is so over flooded with copies. what's even worse is that more and more dealers trys to push copies for the real thing.

Best/ lilja

DirtySanchez

SS Fez

Post by DirtySanchez » 19 Mar 2003, 06:05