Advice on German WW1 decorations

Discussions on Axis awards and decorations. Hosted by John G & William Kramer.
Mintie

Advice on German WW1 decorations

Post by Mintie » 25 Jul 2019 22:35

Hi everyone,

Apologies, firstly, if this is posted in the wrong place - please shift if so - thanks.

I'm a writer looking to get some details right about a Bavarian character who fights in WW1. He is born around 1898, so is young. His friend (who is the same age) receives a fairly lofty decoration, while he has to make do with something much humbler. Any thoughts on what these could be, please? The Iron Cross Second Class for the friend, and...the Bavarian Military Merit Cross Third Class for the main character? I want the latter to receive the lowest honour possible.

Also - any advice on where and when these might have been received, ie where they fought?

Thank you very much for any help!

von thoma

Re: Advice on German WW1 decorations

Post by von thoma » 27 Jul 2019 15:34

Hello Mintie ;

More easy, the friend receives a Iron Cross First Class, and the unlucky Bavarian soldier only the Iron Cross Second Class
( This EK 2 could be granted even just for being hurt, before the wounded badge was instituted in 1918 )
They could have fight in Battle of Marne during Sept 1914. That is my idea
Good luck with your work
" The right to believe is the right of those who don't know "

HPL2008

Post by HPL2008 » 27 Jul 2019 16:42

I suppose we're talking about enlisted men who actually served with the Bavarian contingent (as both factors had relevance for what decorations they could have received; for example, proper orders [Orden] were only awarded to officers.

My suggestion would be that one gets the Bavarian MVK III with Swords - a very common award - and the other one the Goldene Bayerische Tapferkeitsmedaille [Bavarian Bravery Medal in Gold]. This was the highest decoration for bravery a Bavarian soldier of non-officer rank could attain.