Commemorative Boating Coin

Discussions on Axis awards and decorations. Hosted by John G & William Kramer.
rdb3

Commemorative Boating Coin

Post by rdb3 » 25 Dec 2019 05:22

Hi All,

My dad picked up a few items at a flea market in Spain, all of which I suspect are fake. (Note that I'm a Novice here, at best...)

Thought I would post them here anyway to get your thoughts and learn a thing or two.

I'll start with this piece, which looks like some sort of commemorative coin for maybe a boating competition from July 1935?

Seems like a pretty obscure thing to fake...

Any thoughts/input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

-rdb3
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

HPL2008

Re: Commemorative Boating Coin

Post by HPL2008 » 25 Dec 2019 14:04

It's an alleged presentation piece to the winner of a folding boat Olympic qualification competition, but it's a one-looker fake. "Essener" is bizarrely spelled as "E55ener" and that lake is actually called Baldeneysee (not Baideney-See).

Mark in Cleveland, Tn.
Host - For sale section

Post by Mark in Cleveland, Tn. » 25 Dec 2019 15:46

HPL2008 wrote:
25 Dec 2019 14:04
It's an alleged presentation piece to the winner of a folding boat Olympic qualification competition, but it's a one-looker fake. "Essener" is bizarrely spelled as "E55ener" and that lake is actually called Baldeneysee (not Baideney-See).
Agreed.. This is a prime example of knowing the language-terms of word usage,spelling when catching out fakes and fantasy relics.
Ata militaria show some years ago a guy had a collection of WW2 *Pilots chits** those worn on the back of jackets, and in the group was a couple so called China-Burma-India chits with of things..50 star flags on the patch!!!!!!!!! He had forgot that in ww2 there was NO 50 star flags in usage.bahahahaha

Waleed Y. Majeed

Post by Waleed Y. Majeed » 25 Dec 2019 16:35