IS-2 vs King Tiger? Who would win this duel?

Discussions on the vehicles used by the Axis forces. Hosted by Christian Ankerstjerne
JagdAlex

IS-2 vs King Tiger? Who would win this duel?

Post by JagdAlex » 08 May 2006, 20:37

Hi everybody,

I am just wondering if the King Tiger got the upper hand over the IS-2? The KT was better armored than the IS-2 but in a duel let say were the 2 tanks were under 300m appart from each other, with the power of the 122 mm gun of the IS-2, could the KT armor wistand that kind of power at such close range. Was it only pure luck like who shot first and who it first? The IS-2 in close combat got probably less chance of survival than the better armored KT since if he miss his first round with the 2 parts round the KT was probably able to nail him 2 rounds while the IS-2 was reloading and I suppose that 2 hits from that dreaded 88 mm gun means a K.O IS-2, maybe even only 1 round for that matter.

Since I am really not an expert and I am really guessing, so it would be nice if somebody can help me on this.

Many thanks! :D

TISO

Post by TISO » 08 May 2006, 21:37

I don't know if you know this links, but they make fascinating reading.
King tiger from Soviet angle:
The Royal Opponent
Testing the King Tiger at Kubinka

Something on IS-2:
Report about Operations of the 71st Independent Guards Heavy Tank Regiment, Jul.14 - Aug.31, 1944

main site is:
http://www.battlefield.ru/

JagdAlex

Post by JagdAlex » 08 May 2006, 22:43

Interesting indeed, thanks very much! :wink: