"Panzer Gunner"--An Odd Book...

Discussions on books and other reference material on the WW1, Inter-War or WW2 as well as the authors. Hosted by Andy H.
Forum rules
You can support AHF when buying books etc from Amazon, Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.de by using these links.
It costs you nothing extra but it helps keep the forum up and running.
David C. Clarke

"Panzer Gunner"--An Odd Book...

Post by David C. Clarke » 13 Mar 2008 04:19

Hi Guys and Ladies, I'm currently reading Bruno Friesen's "Panzer Gunner : From My Native Canada to the German Ostfront And Back. In Action with 25th Panzer Regiment, 7th Panzer Division 1944-45."

Herr Friesen served on both the Panzer IV and the Jagdpanzer IV, so this book promised to be a treat, if only because accounts by crew members of a Jagdpanzer IV are very rare in English.

My first impression was that this book was a fake, until I studied it more and began to understand the author's methodology. Call it natural cynicism on the part of the Commissar, but the book didn't, at first, ring true because its technical descriptions of the tanks involved--including the T-34--were simply too detailed, but less personalized than one might expect in a war memoir (and the ads for this book asserted that the descriptions of a crewman fighting in a Pz.IV and Jagdpanzer IV were a major selling point for the book).

What initially caused my doubts seem to have been my own initial misunderstanding of the author's technique. The author seeks to integrate his own personal experiences with a great deal of research done after the war.