KL Dora-Nordhausen: Testimony of SS Dr. Karl Kahr

Discussions on the Holocaust and 20th Century War Crimes. Note that Holocaust denial is not allowed. Hosted by David Thompson.
David Thompson
Forum Staff

KL Dora-Nordhausen: Testimony of SS Dr. Karl Kahr

Post by David Thompson » 02 Nov 2004, 03:36

Extracts from testimony of Prosecution witness SS Doctor Karl Kahr, in Trials of War Criminals Before the Nuernberg Military Tribunals Under Control Council Law No. 10. Vol. 5: United States v. Oswald Pohl, et. al. (Case 4: 'Pohl Case'). US Government Printing Office, District of Columbia: 1950. pp. 394-407.
EXTRACTS FROM TESTIMONY OF PROSECUTION WITNESS SS DOCTOR KARL KAHR*

DIRECT EXAMINATION

MR. McHANEY : Witness, your name is Karl Kahr ?

WITNESS KAHR: Yes.

Q. You are a German national?

A. I am an Austrian citizen.

Q. You were born in 1914 at Fuerstenfeld, Austria?

A. Yes.

Q. Are you presently in American custody?

A. Yes.

Q. What is your profession?

A. I am a doctor.

Q. Were you a member of the SS?

A. Yes.

Q. When did you join the SS ?

A. In 1940, that is in July, I joined the Waffen SS.

Q. And you acted as a doctor in the SS?

A. Yes.

Q. Did there come a time when you were assigned as a doctor to a concentration camp?

A. Yes.

Q. When was that?

A. That was in 1943, namely in January or February.

Q. And what concentration camp were you assigned to?

A. First of all it was Dachau and the camp at Dora.

Q. Which camp?

A. Dora.

Q. How long were you in Dachau, Witness?

A. I was at Dachau for nine months, and in 1944 I went to Dora.

Q. Did you go to Dora in January 1944 ?

A. I did not understand your question.
(The question was repeated to the witness lay the interpreter.)

A. Yes.

Q. And how long did you stay at Dora ?

A. Until Christmas, 1944.

Q. And were you subordinated in medical matters while you were in Dora?

A. In medical matters I was first under the garrison [camp] doctor of Buchenwald.

Q. What was his name?

A. Dr. Schiedlausky.